Posted in Uncategorized

Preparing For a Healthier Summer

This is not going to be a quick guide about how to look hot on the beach.
This is going to be a simple guide about how to maintain, and potentially even improve, your health during the summer.

I know that as the weather gets warmer most people tend to get busier with their social life, BBQ’s, lounging at the cottage, and therefore tend to let their healthy habits fall by the wayside.

I know this, because I am one of those people. I love enjoying my time in the sun with family and friends. However, I know that my long term health depends on what I do consistently, rather than just my habits in the winter. This does not mean that I always have to eat perfectly and get in all of my workouts every week, this means that I aim to make healthier options whenever possible, and just do my best.

It is possible to enjoy your summer while making healthier choices, therefore I decided to put together a list of the ways that I maintain my health and fitness goals even with the temptations of summer.

  1. Do something, anything, active every day.

This does not have to mean you go to the gym everyday; this could be going for a walk or a hike with friends, going swimming or playing water sports, or recreational sports/ activities. Just do your best to move as much as possible, as tempting as it is to lie in the sun all day, your body will benefit from more movement – even if it’s just short breaks from sitting. Plus the mix of exercise and sunshine will give you the added benefits from Vitamin D as well!

Remember, a body in motion, stays in motion!

2. Up your water intake

The majority of people are not drinking enough water as is, but as the weather gets warmer, people sweat more and water needs increase.

Aim to drink over 2L of water a day.

Not only will you be getting the added benefits of drinking more water (which is a whole other blog topic), but this usually leads to people decreasing the amount of sugary or alcoholic beverages they consume. Furthermore, more water will help to keep your body healthier and hydrated, and will also help to keep overall calorie consumption lower which can aid in either weight loss or maintenance.

3. Eat 5 servings of vegetables a day.

I know that during the summer it can be much harder to stick to a certain diet, and that sometimes can give people the “screw it, I’m just going to eat whatever I want and get back on track in the fall” mentality.

However, I don’t want you to let your goals or health fall completely off the tracks this summer. I want you to enjoy your summer, while making better choices. Remember, health is not about always being perfect; it is about making the best choices you can, while living a balanced and happy life. This means you do not deprive yourself, but you ensure that you are still giving your body the nutrients it needs.

That is why I always make it a rule to eat 5 servings of veggies a day, no matter what else you may be filling your body with, you know that you still got in your vitamins and nutrients first.

If you are planning on going out for dinner with friends and don’t want to order the salad, just make sure you get your veggies in for lunch, or have some as a snack.

If you are going to a BBQ or a potluck, bring a vegetable tray, that way you know there will be healthier options you can chose from.

See how you can still enjoy your social life without treating your body like a garbage can?

Adding in the vegetables will not only ensure you are getting the proper nutrients in, but it also usually leads people to eat less junk foods because veggies will give you that full feelings.

That’s it!

Seems manageable, right?

All of these tips may seem very simple, however I guarantee you that if you follow them all to the best of your abilities they will make a huge difference.

Feeling and looking your best does not have to be complicated, in fact it is very simple; however, it does take consistency.

It is better to live your life following the 80/20 rule, doing your best and making healthy choices the majority of the time, but still allowing yourself to splurge or forget a workout every now and then, rather than living but the 100% or 0% rule, in which you feel that if you cannot be perfect you don’t even bother trying.

I hope these tips help you keep up with your healthy habits all year long, and as always if you ever have any specific questions please feel free to reach out!

Author:

My dream is to inspire and help as many people as I can through my experiences as well as my passion for health, fitness and wellbeing.

Leave a Reply

