Posted in Healthy Lifestyle Advice

Why Fitness is Really Important

Sure, having a six pack and huge biceps can make you feel cool, maybe give you a bit of confidence for a bit. However, it is not going to improve your quality of life. 
Fitness is really important because of the long term benefits and the impact it can have on your future. 

I’ve gotten to the point in my life (yes, I’ve reached this point after only 22 years) where having abs isn’t my life purpose. Yes, I do want to feel comfortable in my skin, but my self-worth will not be dictated by my body fat percentage. 

Of course, like most people, I worry about what people think about me. 

But, I no longer let those thoughts occupy much of my time. 

The more I learn about my body, what it can do, and how certain exercise affects it, the more I enjoy it. 
Fitness has helped to not only change my physical body, but shape the person I am today. 

Not only am I stronger in the gym, but I am more confident in my physical capabilities. 

I have seen the benefits of exercising as you age.

I have seen them in clients of mine, in their late 40’s and 50’s who say that they feel that they are in the best shape now that they have ever been. 

I have seen the effects in my 81 year old Grandmother, who does something active every day, whether that be going to the gym, riding her bike, or just going for a long walk, I think this woman may be healthier than me!
There is so much information about how exercise can improve health and decrease risk of disease, but none of those reasons evoke any emotion. So I decided to write about my exercise is actually important. 
I will continue to exercise because I want to age gracefully and with a higher quality of life. 

I will continue to exercise because I want to be strong enough to do things for myself when a man isn’t around to do it for me. 

I will continue to exercise because I want to be able to carry the groceries in, or run up the stairs without getting winded.

I will continue to exercise because I want to be healthy and strong enough to walk around without be at a risk of falling and breaking a hip. 

I will continue to exercise because I want to be healthy enough to run around and play with my kids and grandkids.

I will continue to exercise because I plan on spending the rest of my life making happy memories, not memories of being stuck inside a Doctor’s office.

I will continue to exercise because I know my body feels better when I do. 
My goal in life is not to live forever, but to enjoy it as much as I can.
You cannot control everything in life, in fact, there are many things that are out of your control. 

But, one thing that you can control is your habits. 

Do your current habits improve your quality of life?

If not, hopefully, this is the sign you needed to make a change! 

If so, keep on doing what you’re doing, and never let somebody tell you you’re too old to exercise!

Author:

I am a 21 year old trainer who grew up in a small town with a dream to inspire and help as many people as I can through my passion for fitness and health. Although I am very driven and goal focused, I have a very cheesy sense of humour and am trying to have as much fun as I can while still achieving my goals.

2 thoughts on “Why Fitness is Really Important

Leave a Reply

