Posted in Healthy Lifestyle Advice, My Fitness Story

What You Think You Want (to be skinny) vs What You Actually Want

I’ve been there, thinking that if you could just fit into a certain size, or weigh a particular number that you would be happy.

Thinking that once I reach my goal and get “skinny enough” everything will just fall into place; I will enjoy my life, people will like me, that boy will like me, I will be happy and like myself….

However, that’s not the reality.

With that kind of thinking you will never truly be satisfied.

These kinds of thoughts lead to very unhealthy behaviours.

You start to realize that even though you reached what you thought was your goal weight, you’re still not happy, people don’t seem to like you more, you certainly aren’t happy with yourself, that boy still doesn’t like you, and you’re miserable.

So you start to think that you need to continue to lose more weight.

You think that this obviously wasn’t enough and you need to be “skinnier” in order to actually be happy and love yourself.

Is this starting to sound crazy now that it’s not just in your head and it’s written and all out in the open?

Does this sound like any way to live?

Continuously beating yourself up.

Feeling guilty over every piece of food you put into your mouth.

Thinking you need to wake up and run for an hour to burn off the calories from a night out with friends.

Forever hating your body.

No, this is no way to live.

It’s not healthy and it is never going to make you happy.

What you really want is to be healthy, to be strong, to be fit.

I know, because I’ve been there.

I’ve been at a body composition that I was uncomfortable with myself, I’ve been at a weight that I was very underweight – both I was not confident or happy.

Then, I discovered my own strength.

I became educated on weight training and proper nutrition.

I was soon increasing my weights in the gym, gaining muscle, becoming stronger physically and mentally, everyday.

When you are “skinny” you are not necessarily “healthy.”

img_3546

I wasn’t.

I had no energy.

I had no social life.

I looked sickly.

I was no fun.

I have never been as confident, healthy, happy and strong, as I am now.

30lbs heavier than my lowest weight in September of 2013.

img_0291-jpg-1

The number on the scale cannot tell you how your clothes fit.

The number on the scale cannot tell you how strong you are.

The number on the scale cannot tell you how much the people in your life love you.

The number on the scale means absolutely nothing.

You do not have to starve yourself and do hours of cardio to be happy in your body.

The way to a healthier and happier you is to find a way to make a full on lifestyle change, that will benefit your health in the long run, but that is sustainable forever.

People can never guess how much I weigh, because I weigh a lot more than I look.

I don’t get offended, or upset about the number on the scale.

I am not worried about what other people think of me.

I am proud of how far I have come, physically and mentally.

This new strength, and confidence came from letting go of what society thinks I should do and look like, and focusing on my health.

So take it from me, you don’t want to be skinny.

You want to be strong.

You want to be healthy.

You want to be happy.

Author:

My dream is to inspire and help as many people as I can through my experiences as well as my passion for health, fitness and wellbeing.

4 thoughts on “What You Think You Want (to be skinny) vs What You Actually Want

  1. Roni you always give get inspiration. I read all your blogs. You look great and I have and still live that life of being unsatisfied with my appearance and my overall health level. I am trying to eat healthy and live each day as it comes. You look wonderful. For someone so young you have a wonderful outlook on life. I am trying to change my outlook on life because of you and I thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

