Posted in fitness, Healthy Lifestyle Advice, My Fitness Story, Uncategorized

You Are More Important Than Your Weight

*News Flash* no one cares about how much you weigh, other than you!

And that extra layer of love around your mid-section? I can guarantee you no one obsesses over it as much as you do. The only reason someone else may notice it is because you are constantly grabbing it and complaining about it.

Would you pick a friend apart like you do to yourself?

Hopefully not.

So why are we so quick to judge ourselves?

When did the number on the scale become such a topic of discussion, mainly anger and embarrassment, in our society?

I hear it all the time, even from people who don’t have much, if any to lose, that they think they “need to be 10lbs lighter” to be the right weight for their body.

Who says?

There’s a difference between needing to drop 30lbs for health reasons and thinking you need to be X pounds because some skinny fitness model weighs that – or because that number is easier to tell people.

There is almost 5 years difference in those pictures, and my weight is almost the same in both – in fact, I may even be a little heavier on the right.

Do you still believe your scale is the indicator of your self-worth?

I don’t believe in “goal-weights” because exercise doesn’t just effect the number on the scale but it changes where and how you body stores weight. The point of the picture is to show that the scale isn’t the be all and end all.

Every body is different. Every body is beautiful. Every body is perfect in its own way.

I have been many different weights and body compositions in between these two pictures, and although I am not currently the leanest I’ve ever been, I am happy and proud of myself and how far I’ve come; not just physically but mentally. It has taken me a long time to get to where I am, so I know it’s not a change you can make over night. However you can start to love yourself at anytime.

Go to a mirror, right now.

Then, say three things that you truly love about yourself.

At first this can be hard, but the more you do it the more comfortable you will get with this.

From now on try to replace every negative thought you have about yourself with at least 3 positive thoughts.

I’m not saying that I’m perfect,; I look at myself and could point out plenty of things I would like to change, my body image is still something I need to work on everyday. But each time I feel the negative thought spiral starting I try to remind myself of how far I have come and all that I’ve been through and everyday I get a little nicer to myself.

It’s true what they say; the most beautiful people are the happiest people who are confident and comfortable in their own skin.

Author:

My dream is to inspire and help as many people as I can through my experiences as well as my passion for health, fitness and wellbeing.

2 thoughts on “You Are More Important Than Your Weight

Leave a Reply

