Posted in My Fitness Story, Uncategorized

Comp Prep Ramblings & Life Simplified

The process of competing isn’t about competing against other people and trying to be better than everyone. Competing is about bringing the best to the stage that YOU can.
Doing a fitness competition isn’t something that I decided to do just to “look good in a bikini”, or for attention, or for some guy to notice me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that I am perfect, by any means. But I am saying that I am at a stage in my life where I am very comfortable with who I am and what I look like – however I look, and am not looking for validation from anyone.

I’m doing this for me.

I don’t work out to compete. I compete because I workout and now I am looking to challenge myself and see what I can achieve.

I’m doing this because I love working out and challenging myself and doing things that are “not normal.” I love being different and pushing my own limits, not because I want to feel superior, but because I love the feeling of pride I get from working hard towards a goal. Plus, I have learned so much about the human body and how amazing it truly is (not just during prep, but from school) so it is really cool for me to see the effects of my work. This has really been a learning process for me and has been so incredible to see the changes in my body, and I’ve only been on “prep” for 6 weeks!

One thing that has made this journey a little bit easier on me (so far) is that I have used the last 3 years of my life making my body as healthy and strong as possible. I’ve done this by incorporating more weight training and food, and less cardio.

This combination has allowed me to put on almost 30 pounds, mostly muscle – not all mind you, and turn my body into a metabolic, carb loving machine. Yes, as my prep continues I know I will need to continue to change my diet, but that is because I am going to push my body to it’s extremes. Thankfully I have a brilliant coach who doesn’t change anything overly drastically and allows me to work smarter instead of stupidly hard. Furthermore, since I was eating such a high amount of carbs, and overall calories before I started my prep it has given me tonnes of room to work with when going into a deficit. This is another reason why I am so glad that this is the year I have decided to compete.

When my coach sent my update this week she told me that she believes we are ahead of schedule! Which is amazing to me, since my diet hasn’t been crazy and I’m not even doing 1 1/2 hours of cardio a week! This proves that the more muscle you have and the better you treat your body the easier it is to manipulate it and change its composition.

I don’t want to give anyone the wrong impression and have you believe that getting to this point has been easy for me and has been little work, because that would be a lie. But it’s been a lot easier mentally than when I first attempted to lose weight, before I was educated and knew the healthy and simpler methods.
This is the first year in a while that I have felt content and at peace with my life. Not just my body, but everything in my life. Clearly, my life isn’t perfect, and it’s not that I was unhappy all the years before this, but I am just wonderfully content with my life right now.

Anyways, there’s no major lesson in this post.. I warned you this was my ramblings!

But I’ll leave you with these thoughts:

– Life doesn’t have to be hard to get better OR different, yes change is challenging but it’s all in your approach. The knowledge and mental attitude in which you approach a task will determine how efficiently and enjoyably you reach said goal.

– In my opinion it is always better to work smarter than harder.

– LIFT WEIGHTS. FUEL YOUR BODY. SLEEP. REPEAT

Author:

My dream is to inspire and help as many people as I can through my experiences as well as my passion for health, fitness and wellbeing.

4 thoughts on “Comp Prep Ramblings & Life Simplified

  1. I genuinely loved reading this. I think it’s perfect. Before I met my husband, I was training to do a bikini competition. Well, after getting married and getting lazy, I let myself go and I gained a ton of weight. But you’re describing the exact reason why I want to get back there. It is amazing to challenge yourself and to what your body can do. You are doing wonderful and I am so excited to see how you progress. Thank you for being so transparent<3

    Like

Leave a Reply

