Posted in Healthy Lifestyle Advice, My Fitness Story

It’s OK not to be OK

I try to be as real as possible. Especially because most people look at me and think my life is “perfect”, or that things come easy for me,or that I don’t have bad days, and that is truly not the case.
It’s easy to look at someone who seems to have their life together, who has the things you think you want, and judge them, be jealous, or even belittle their accomplishments because you haven’t seen the hard work that they have put in to get to that point. It’s just easier. And most of the time we do that to make ourselves feel better, because by believing that they didn’t have to try to get to where they are it makes us feel like it’s not our fault that we haven’t reached a certain goal.
But that needs to stop.
Just because you haven’t seen someone’s struggle and hard work doesn’t mean it wasn’t or isn’t there.
Anything worth having is worth putting in a little bit of effort. The people who inspire me the most are the ones who are honest, the ones who don’t just show their highlight reel, the ones who show their effort and struggle and give me something to relate too. Being able to relate to my role models helps to give me the confidence to keep grinding and to believe that I do it.
But I’m here to let you know that I struggle.

I have bad days.

I have days where I have to force a smile, not because something in particular has happened, but just because I am feeling a little down, not myself.

I have days (like this whole past week) where I felt like I was just going through the motions of my life.
I figured when I started prepping for this competition that the hardest part for me would be the diet and posing and girly stuff, and that I would soar through the workout program.

But boy, was I wrong.

I had to force myself just to get through my specific plan, my heart wasn’t in it and I was lacking my usual energy and strength….
But I pushed through.

I have goals, so I knew what I had to do, and that was get through my workouts as best as I could. This was tough for me because my workouts are intense, I mean they always have been, but being on a calorie deficit leaves me with a little less energy, therefore not having the energy to fuel my typical workouts and it has discouraged me a little.
This week was hard for me.

I didn’t feel like myself, and have been extra hard on myself because of it.

This isn’t a pity party, I’m not looking for sympathy.

I’m just trying to say that being successful isn’t all fun and games, and it truly does take hard work.
There’s a difference between understanding that it’s OK to have a bad day, and dwelling on it.
All week I have been doing what I usually do to get motivated in an attempt to get back to myself, and it hasn’t been easy. But yesterday I finally felt stronger in the gym again which has helped regain a bit of confidence. I took the rest of the weekend as a complete rest to let my body and mind regenerate, and I’m so glad I did. I feel rested, relaxed and actually excited to get back in the gym tomorrow and start my new program for this month!
Thankfully, I have a great support system and can have a fresh start anytime I choose.
I intend to make this month even better than the last. I will do this by choosing to only think positive thoughts and keeping the end goal in mind, which is less than 8 weeks away!
Next time you’re having a bad day, remind yourself that it happens to everyone. Allow yourself to become aware of how you’re feeling and really feel those emotions. Let it off your chest; talk to someone close to you, write it in a journal, or post a blog about it, whatever you need to do to acknowledge your feelings. Then let them go, rid yourself of those feelings so that they cannot get in the way of your happiness and goals again.

Author:

My dream is to inspire and help as many people as I can through my experiences as well as my passion for health, fitness and wellbeing.

One thought on “It’s OK not to be OK

Leave a Reply

