Posted in My Fitness Story, Nutrition/ Diet

My “supplement” routine

Personally, I believe in fueling my body with real food. I don’t take many supplements because I like to get nutrients from whole foods, but some can be very helpful and almost essential for people, especially if your diet is lacking. A few people have asked me what supplements I take, so I thought I would share with you!
So everyday I take:
Super EFA’s (essential fatty acids) / Omega 3s

In our new modern diet, the fats that are mostly consumed are Omega 6s which cause inflammation in the body. And it’s not that Omega 6s are overly bad for us, but the imbalance between the two is what is causing the issue.

So many health problems now a days are caused from inflammation, so taking an Omega 3 supplement can help to get back to a normal balance of Omega 3s and 6s, which can help decrease inflammation.

Plus fatty acids are also wonderful for helping to regulate hormones and help your brain!

So chances are, you too, will also benefit from an Omega 3 supplement. Unless you eat 3 servings of fish a week, because if you do, then you are probably getting enough as is!
Magnesium/ Calcium

I read an article one day on 21 reasons why everyone should be taking a magnesium supplement. I’m not going to list all of those here, but I am going to touch on a few that show it’s importance… I’ll try to only say my favourite and not get too boring!

Magnesium helps with sleep because it has a calming effect on the body’s nervous system and relaxes the muscles.

Magnesium is important for athletes because it is crucial for the production of energy and is also lost through sweat, which increases an athletes needs for magnesium.

Magnesium helps with depression and stress because serotonin (the feel good chemical) needs magnesium to be made and function.

Magnesium deficiency speeds up the aging process.

Magnesium helps with fat loss and diabetes by helping to improve insulin sensitivity.

Magnesium helps prevent feelings of fatigue.

Magnesium helps regulate hunger cravings because the body needs it to absorb and use nutrients.

Seriously, there are so many more and it is just so helpful!

Vitamin D (only from Nov – March)

In the summer, when the sun is stronger there is no need to take a Vitamin D supplement because just 10-15 minutes in the sun can give your body enough for 2 weeks!

But in the winter you are a lot less likely to get the right amount of Vitamin D and that can have negative impacts on your health as well as your mood!

Vitamin D helps keep you healthy, protects your eyes, bones and skin, and also fights disease!
And that’s it!

To ensure that I’m getting enough nutrients I make sure I eat a variety of fruits, vegetables, grains and protein sources.
Now remember, everyBODY is different. You may need more or less supplements than me due to certain health conditions, etc. But I just wanted to share with you all a bit of my routine since people always ask what I take!

Author:

I am a 21 year old trainer who grew up in a small town with a dream to inspire and help as many people as I can through my passion for fitness and health. Although I am very driven and goal focused, I have a very cheesy sense of humour and am trying to have as much fun as I can while still achieving my goals.

One thought on “My “supplement” routine

Leave a Reply

