Posted in fitness, Healthy Lifestyle Advice, Nutrition/ Diet

How to lose the fat in those trouble areas!!

Being a personal trainer I get asked, almost daily, ‘how to lose this’ as they squeeze the extra fat on their tummy or smack their thigh, so I figured I should answer it on the internet for all to read.

If you know me, you know I am realistic and want to help whoever I can to achieve their goals and feel better, but heres the hard truth: you can’t lose fat in a certain area by doing certain exercises!

There, I said it.

“OMG, but where is this quick fix that I was promised to lose the fat in my trouble areas?!?”

The truth is, everyone has different body types and because if that will lose weight from certain areas first. You have the apple shape, who are typically the people with the larger belly and thing thighs. Then you have the pear shape who carry more of their weight in their thighs and butt and less in their abdomen.

Ok, ok, now I know you’re all mad at me thinking, ‘why did you get us so excited to just let us down like that?’ well I am getting to the how to BUT I need you all to understand that it is not a quick fix, there is no way to just lose the weight surrounding your tummy by doing crunches – NOPE, IT WON’T WORK!

The answer: Hard work and consistency!

It is a mixture of your nutrition and exercise. Since not everyone loses weight in the same areas first it may take you a while to see changes in the places you want to, which is why it is so important to stick with it, even if you don’t see changes where you want to at first, YOU WILL, if you keep going.  When you are in a calorie deficit your body decides what fat to get rid of first and what you want to try to hold on to. So yes, it will take time, and no, I’m sorry you can’t just spot reduce. But the feeling of satisfaction when you stick with it and start to notice changes – not just in your appearance, but your physical and mental wellbeing, is totally worth it.

So, my final piece of advice: keep going!

You will never regret going to the gym, but you will regret staying on the couch and putting it off.

{Oh and stay away from anything that promises to help you lose belly fat only, because anything that is super quick is potentially dangerous and will most likely not stay off!!}

Stay persistent and you will achieve your goals, just stay motivated and remember that you are worth it.

Author:

I am a 21 year old trainer who grew up in a small town with a dream to inspire and help as many people as I can through my passion for fitness and health. Although I am very driven and goal focused, I have a very cheesy sense of humour and am trying to have as much fun as I can while still achieving my goals.

One thought on “How to lose the fat in those trouble areas!!

Leave a Reply

