Posted in Healthy Lifestyle Advice

The Importance of Being Your Own Competition

We’ve all been there, well, I know I have anyways…

Comparing yourself to people on the front of fitness magazines, thinking that just because you don’t have the muscles, hair, or following they do, that you’re not good enough.

And why?

You don’t know what they have gone through to get to that point in their life, PLUS they only show their highlights and you know that they had to diet down for that photo shoot, and then be re-touched.

So here I am telling you (and reminding myself) to STOP.

Take a look at how far you’ve come.

Think of all the hard work you have put in on your own journey, whether you have just started or are weeks, months or years in, be proud. Remind yourself that you have done your best and are closer than you once were to becoming the best you that you can be. Don’t just think of the big picture to measure your progress, include all of the little things, like if you have just started to add vegetables to your diet (your body thanks you and it will show), go to the gym three times a week (again, your body thanks you and it will show), or you have already lost 15 pounds, those are all things to be proud of.

Here’s a little tip, I guarantee you that the people you are comparing yourselves to are comparing themselves to other people, picking apart their own insecurities, because EVERYONE DOES IT.

I have had multiple people come up to me and tell me how “inspiring” I am, and how they wished that they looked like me (thank you btw – you guys fill me with joy), yet here I am constantly comparing myself to others…

But you know what, I’ve come a long way. And I think it’s time to be proud of that.

And I want you to be proud of yourself too.

For the next week, try to focus on things to be proud of – whether it’s upping a weight on an exercise, fitting into an old pair of jeans, having an apple as a snack instead of a donut, anything that is helping you get closer to your goals. Then, do this the next week, and the next week, until it becomes a habit. Not only will you be happier with yourself, but you’ll notice you start to make even better progress.

Right now, sit down with a pen and paper and write down 4 things you are proud of yourself for or that you are currently doing to reach your goals. Do this as often as you can, eventually you will only notice all the amazing things about you because there are so many.

Author:

I am a 21 year old trainer who grew up in a small town with a dream to inspire and help as many people as I can through my passion for fitness and health. Although I am very driven and goal focused, I have a very cheesy sense of humour and am trying to have as much fun as I can while still achieving my goals.

3 thoughts on “The Importance of Being Your Own Competition

Leave a Reply

