Posted in Healthy Lifestyle Advice

The Importance of Education

If I were to go to the start of my journey, you wouldn’t even have recognized me. Not just talking about my appearance, but my personality, my mindset and my love of life.

When I started trying to lose weight I only educated myself via the internet, twitter, famous people who were in shape, articles in magazine,basically all of the sources that I now roll my eyes at and tell my clients to stay away from unless they have a proper source.

But, like many of you, I just wanted to lose weight and gain some confidence and these people all seemed to have these things to work for them, so obviously I was going to give them a try.

For a very long period of time I was scared of certain foods.

SCARED.

How ridiculous does that sound?

How can someone be scared of food!

Food nourishes you, it allows your body to move, your brain to function, your body temperature to regulate, and so many important things.

Yet, I deprived myself of so many of the amazing foods I loved because I thought that was necessary to lose weight.

I ate “low carb”, stayed away from most breads, white potatoes, any refined sugars, NEVER ate a treat… And it was working (Keep in mind I was exercising regularly as well),I started to lose weight and was extremely happy about my progress.. So I kept avoiding foods thinking that my new “diet plan” was the reason for my success.

I told myself that once I reached my goal body that I would allow myself to eat whatever I wanted because I would no longer be trying to lose weight… But that didn’t happen. By the time I reached my goal I thought that if I ate anything with processed sugar or “bad” carbs, that I would gain all the weight back.

My “healthy food craze” got so intense that my family was actually scared of me, my obsession had gotten so bad it was effecting all of those around me.

Then, I started College… Still kept up with my healthy eating habits and exercising…. But I noticed I was starting to be extremely tired all the time, I just had absolutely no energy.

Thankfully, I went home for Thanksgiving after a month and my family (who hadn’t seen me for a month) noticed that I continued to lose weight and brought this to my attention.

At that point, I started to track what I ate to ensure I was getting the proper amount of calories to help me get back to a healthy weight.

Then via social media and the internet I heard of this new thing called “flexible dieting” – it was still another form of tracking your calories, but with certain amounts for each macronutrient – and they believed in the 80/20 rule… 80% whole foods, and 20% whatever you wanted.

This time, before I believed whatever I read on the internet, I did some researched… People were getting real results with this flexible dieting thing, but still got to enjoy all of their favourite foods. This sounded like a great way to reach my goals, and gain more peace of mind and balance in my life.

After one week of flexible dieting I loved it! I didn’t balloon up like I thought I would if I ate “junk foods”, but I was no longer depriving myself when I had a craving for ice cream or donuts or WHATEVER!

This was when I really started to find balance and peace on my journey and truly enjoy it.

It’s amazing what happens when you get educated on properly FUELLING your body for exercise and everyday functioning.

WHY MY CRAZY NO CHEAT, NO SUGAR, BLAH BLAH PLAN WORKED:

  1. Obviously it worked, I based my diet off of vegetables, fruits, lean proteins and all of the healthy foods that should be staples in your diet.
  2. I was exercising, this helps with weight loss because it makes it easier to be in a calorie deficit which is the only way to lose weight, burn more calories in a day than you consume.
  3. I was consistent.. I kept with it for more than 1 week.

Take away:

Yes, there are MANY MANY ways to lose weight. But not all of them are healthy.  Extreme dieting is not only hard on your body, but very tough mentally and emotionally.. And tough on those around you.

EDUCATE yourself before you try the new detox tea, fast, or magic pill to help you lose weight.

You don’t have to deprive yourself of all of your favourite foods to lose weight, just don’t eat them all the time.

It is much healthier to lose the weight slowly and through a balanced diet with plenty of variety, than with a crazy extreme diet or exercise.

Author:

I am a 21 year old trainer who grew up in a small town with a dream to inspire and help as many people as I can through my passion for fitness and health. Although I am very driven and goal focused, I have a very cheesy sense of humour and am trying to have as much fun as I can while still achieving my goals.

Leave a Reply

